top of page

Project Proposal on Blended Learning Implementation Strategies

I'd love your feedback on my project proposal! I submitted this along with a rubric for my #T509 Massive: Learning at Scale class at HGSE.

Project Abstract:

Massachusetts recently received an “F” in technology in K-12 schools according to the recent Leaders & Laggards Report Card from the Department of Commerce (2014), and one reason could be because of the limited number of schools utilizing blended learning environments. So, what strategies should school districts employ if they are transitioning from traditional face-to-face instruction to a blended learning environment? My project researches and compares implementation strategies for blended learning programs in K-12 schools in Massachusetts. After surveying best practices from a variety of practitioners in the field across the U.S. - including calling/emailing policy analysts and advocates (such as the Clayton Christensen Institute in California), state government officials (such as those at the Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education), blended learning school district officials (i.e. tech directors, superintendents, etc.), and major blended learning tech companies (tbd.) - I hope to gain an understanding of the major players in the field and produce a policy paper advocating implementation strategies.

Outcomes:

Describe how the world will be (a little bit) different because of your project

The goal of this project is to enable schools to effectively transition their education model into a blended learning environment. My final product - a position paper - will empower schools, districts, and government officials to reinvent their school design into a more personalized, effective pedagogical model for educating young learners.

Product for Presentation Night:

Describe what you will present to classmates and others at our Presentation Night on Nov. 19th. Consider what would be visually engaging.

I hope to present my policy paper along with a short pre-quiz and survey. Viewers will first fill out a short questionnaire (via my personal iPad mini) surveying their prior knowledge and opinions on blended learning. Next, I will present my audience with my policy paper advocating certain strategies for implementing blending learning. Finally, viewers will fill out a short survey (via my personal laptop) asking for a critique of the policy memo (including thoughts for further study / paper improvement) and whether their opinions changed from the questionnaire at the beginning.

Final Product:

Describe what you will turn in for evaluation on Dec. 3

I will hand in a policy memo detailing and advocating blended learning strategies. The policy paper will be amended following the presentation night feedback survey to include suggested improvements (critical substantive content) and an analysis of potential effectiveness (personal opinion transformation). After substantive class and instructor review, I hope to submit my project to the MA DESE for implementation and to CCI for potential publishing opportunities.

This project has croc-level ferocity

Croc-Fierce. Just a baby croc, though.

Nairobi, Kenya, July 2014

Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page